Big News…

As my first year of university is nearly over (I can’t believe it either!), a few weeks ago I began to think about how best to spend my 5 months of summer. With such a long time off I knew I had to make the most of my time.

Because the student loan system is rubbish, I get the minimum amount possible (just over 3k) so working this summer to help pay my rent (just over 5k) is a must. I’m extremely lucky that my workplace have managed to transfer me back to my hometown on a good contract until term starts again in September, yippee!

However with having such a long time off uni, I knew that I had to take advantage of this time and get some experience and volunteer in areas that are relevant to my degree. So I looked for opportunities online and applied to be a Social Media Volunteer for Oxfam, within their Oxfam fashion department and their online shop. The job role looked so interesting, with the focus being on the Oxfam Fashion Twitter page, which has amassed a huge following and is making waves in the fashion world. So I applied online and guess what…

I got offered the role! 


I’m absolutely over the moon, especially because the role looked incredibly interesting to me and the key responsibilities seem like tasks I would thoroughly enjoy. Hopefully I’ll be starting within the next few weeks after my induction at the Oxfam house, and I’ll definitely be blogging about it. I can’t wait to be a part of the Oxfam Fashion Social Team!

In the mean time, check out the Oxfam Fashion Twitter page, the online shop, and their website.


Comment if you have any volunteering experience, if you’re applying for any opportunities or you have any advice for me!

Esther 🙂

2 thoughts on “Big News…

  1. Natalia Szczepanek says:

    Very sensible of you! Most students treat their summer break as the time of doing absolutely nothing productive. What a great opportunity you’ve found! You’re going to have loads of fun! I’m sure you’re going to be great too, good luck from one PR gal to another!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment